Diane Ravitch's blog

I took a fall on April 5 and had the misfortune to land full-force on my left knee. At first the knee surgeon thought I wouldn’t need surgery, and that was reassuring. However, when he saw the MRI, he changed his mind. I had managed to tear not only my ACL but the meniscus ligaments in my knee. The surgeon recommended a total knee replacement. So that’s what I will do. The date for surgery is May 9. Lots of pre-surgical tests before then, and lots of physical therapy to get ready and more after the surgery.

It is not a pleasant prospect to say the least. But this too shall pass.

In the meanwhile, I will stay on top of the news about education and continue to keep the living room open for frank discussion about the state of American education.

The Network for Public Education is going strong.

View original post 174 more words

